Understanding 2 Stage Recycle Bin

In this article I will take you through 2 Stage Recycle Bin through an example.

2 Stage Recycle Bin

SharePoint have a 2 Stage Deletion Process.

When you delete an item, it will go to the Site Recycle Bin.  This is Stage 1.

Once you delete the item from Recycle Bin, it will reach Site Collection Recycle Bin. This is Stage 2.

After 30 days, the item will be automatically deleted from the Stage 2 Recycle Bin.  Once it is deleted, you need Content Database restore or such techniques to get the item back.

Let us analyze this step by step.

Step 1: Create List

For starting with create a list named Test.

image

Step 2: Create List

After creation, Go to List Settings & Choose Delete option.
 

image

Step 3: Open Recycle Bin

Open Recycle Bin from the Quick Launch & You can see the list is there. (First Stage)

image http://hp/_layouts/recyclebin.aspx

Delete the list from there too.

image

Step 4: Check Site Collection Recycle Bin

Click on the Site Collection Recycle Bin link from the above page & You can see the following page.

(Please check the URL)

 

image http://hp/_layouts/AdminRecycleBin.aspx

By default it should stay there for 30 days.  Choose the Deleted from end user Recycle Bin option

image

You will get the following confirmation prompt.

image

Click the Ok button to confirm deletion & Your list is permanently deleted.

Now the only option remaining to retain it is to use Backup Database.

Quota

Please note that the First Stage Recycle Bin affects Site Collection Quota & the Second State does not.

Summary

In this article we have explored the 2 Stage Recycle Bin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *